Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tobr24u

Vienna Acoustics vs. B&W speakers. Any experience or thoughts ?

tobr24u
17 years ago

I have been looking at Vienna Acoustics speakers at a local Best Buy in their upscale new Magnolia Room. The quality of the workmanship is the best that I have ever seen in the price range (1 to 14K) for the wooden enclosures and they sounded superb, but store demos are hard to evaluate. So any advice would be appreciated...

Comments (16)

• jdbillp
    17 years ago

I wouldn't buy any $14000 speakers at Best Buy. I don't care what they call their hifi department.

B&W speakers rock.

• steve_o
    17 years ago

In fairness, BB bought Magnolia, which was a free-standing chain before the purchase, and Magnolia was purchased to get BB into the high-end business (would've been an image stretch to go high-end after their current business model).

As for the original question, I have no experience with Vienna Acoustics. I have a smaller pair of B&Ws that I really enjoy, though I've heard other B&Ws which sounded -- well -- bloodless. If you're considering spending several grand on speakers, though, I would urge you to shop carefully. At that price, there are options (and different approaches to sound) galore.

• tobr24u
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thanks, but the speakers would cost about 3 grand for the pair, and I have until fall to amke a choice, so would appreciate any other comments.

• KTKelly
    17 years ago

You said it yourself.

"Store demos are hard to evaluate".

I'm sure that there is someone that carries high end speakers, amps, etc, that would allow an in depth evaluation with your source material. And possibly in your home listening environment.

• jdbillp
    17 years ago

BB may have bought the Magnolia franchise but they have had a hard time keeping the Magnolia employees. Many of them have left.