Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
javern

am antenna

javern
18 years ago

any opinions on the best am antenna for a home receiver, using a loop right now, looking for something better home made or store bought

Comments (6)

• Bill_G
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I use insulated wire wrapped around a pop can myself. Highly directional. Helps cut out noise from a nearby computer monitor.

• twosevenright
    18 years ago

For directionality to it. I'd recommend a loop. There's a myriad of loop antenna projects and kits available on the web.

• lazypup
    18 years ago

I have been a practicing Ham Radio Operator for nearly 30 years, (FCC call sign KC 8 UXZ -General Class operator). My prinicpal area of interest throughout that time has been the design and construction of wire antennas.

While almost any random lenght of wire may be used as a receiver antenna, for optimum receive the wire should be cut to 1/4 or 1/2 resonant lenth at the desired frequency. In many instances a resonant antenna will exhibit as much as 20db gain over a random length while also offering good rejection of unwanted signals.

The resonant lenght is the physical distance a radio wave travels through free space on one cycle.

All Radio Frequency energy travels at the speed of light which is 300,000,000 meters per second.

By dividing 300 by the frequency expressed in MegaHertz (Mhz) we can then determine the distance the signal travels on one inpulse.

When designing for a broad band of freqquencies such as found on the AM broadcast band we must first find the frequency at band center. The AM band is 550Khz through 1600 khz therefore we subtract 550 from 1600 to find 1050khz or 1.05mhz is band center.

Dividing the the distance radio travels in one second 300 million meters by the frequency in Mhz we find the distance the signal travels on one impulse at frequency- 300/ 1.05 = 285.71 meters. (round to 285)

1/4wave is now 285/4= 71.25 meters