Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cowboyind

Dish Network

cowboyind
18 years ago

I'm new to Dish Network, having just gotten it installed a couple of weeks ago. I'm looking for a few tips from more experienced satellite TV users.

I got the single receiver that serves 2 TVs. I think they call this the "322" model. Due to the phone line location, it could not be installed near the TV I have that has S-video inputs (a Sony WEGA). Instead it's near an older Sony set that does have RCA jacks, but no S-video. So right now I'm stuck using the RF feed to the WEGA. I don't like that. It's an okay picture, no worse than cable, but probably no better either. On the contrary, the picture to the old Sony set is fantastic, even without S-video.

Obviously I need to move the satellite receiver to the location of the WEGA, which I'll do as soon as I move the phone line into that room. But then if I upgrade the older TV to a newer one with S-video, the inferior RF feed has to go to that one.

What's the answer here? Do I just need to get two satellite receivers rather than this 322 model that serves 2 TVs off of the same receiver? How much better is the S-video going to be? I know with DVDs it looks great.

Just curious as to how other people with satellite services handle this situation.

Comments (33)

• Pooh Bear
    18 years ago

I have Dish Network.
    I have a single reciever Dish DVR.
    And then I have another plain reciever box.
    Neither of these has ever been hooked up to a phone line.
    When they were installed there was no phone service.
    I was here when they installed them.
    I have no problems from not using a phone line.

Coax cable is horrible. When I upgraded to RCA Mono cables
    I couldn't believe the difference in picture quality.

Unless you use pay per view,
    I would move the box to where you want it.
    Then run cables back to the other tv.

I wouldn't worry about the phone line connection.

Pooh Bear

• hbw248
    18 years ago