Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mowers_gw

Pre Wiring for a TV

mowers
16 years ago

I am a low tech type of guy. I am currently refinishing my basement and studding it out now. Finished the electric wiring and wanted to prewire for a LCD/Plasma TV for the wall. I have done research but get confused. Any recommendations? One site said to prewire using 6 coax cables!!! Is this really needed? Also, do you really need to buy the TV first to find out how it mounts? Or does regular spaced studding work OK. Do the studs need to be dead on somewhere for the TV to hang from a bracket? And what about an electric box...where should that go? I read that you can run the regular plug from the TV behind the wall and pop it out at the regular floor area outlet...seems to be a big code violation.

Comments (12)

• chris8796
    16 years ago

What wires to run? It depends on your video sources, OTA, STB, games, etc. The best thing to do is run conduit (2") from the TV to the area for the video sources. Then you can add and remove wires whenever.

If you know the size/type of the TV you plan to purchase, buy the mount now. You can then determine how it will fit and where you can run the electric and other cabless. Most mounts are fairly flexible with the mounting requirements.

Just put a recessed clock receptacle behind the TV. You can't just run the cord behind the wall.

• pete_p_ny
    16 years ago

I think a better alternative is to set your TV on a credenza piece with cabinets below to house your CD player, XBox, etc with glass doors so the infrared works. They also have nice furniture pieces that have a nice wood panel on the back you can hang your TV from. It may seem like the "in thing" to do is to hang it on the wall, but I think there are better alternatives that avoid all the issue of behind the wall wiring.

• amirm
    16 years ago