Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
audrey_gw

TV converter boxes not working

audrey_gw
12 years ago

Hi, everybody. At the house where I work as a home health aide, the TV converter box stopped working recently. It wouldn't turn the digital TV on at all, except once in a great while. Though, once it was on, it worked fine.

The daugher of my patient didn't want to have to buy a new box, so she got a used one from her sister--who runs a thrift shop. This one turns the digital TV on quite nicely. But the picture will cut out abruptly at wildly unpredictable intervals--sometimes after an hour or so, sometimes after just ten minutes. I can get it back by turning the box off, then on again. But then I have to find the right channel again, as it doesn't generally return to the one we'd been watching.

I don't think there's anything wrong with the TV itself, as it will play DVD's and videos just fine. If anybody has any suggestions, I'd be happy to hear them.

Comments (6)

• yosemitebill
    12 years ago

Hi,

Your term "converter box" is a little confusing here. Is the signal source from a cable service provider or over-the-air broadcast television?

Also, what do you mean by "turning the TV on?" Is the television AC power cord plugged into the back of the box?

Do you know what type of video or signal connection is being used between the converter box and the television?

Please post back with more information and I'll try to offer whatever help I can.

• audrey_gw
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks! All I can tell you is that it is a Magnavox set-top box used to convert a regular TV, so that it can receive digital signals. I did try looking up an online manual for the box and decided then--from its appearance-- that it was probably the model TB100MW9. But the manual didn't help me much!

No, there is no cable service involved, just broadcast TV. After I turn on the TV, I have to turn on the box before I can receive any picture at all.