Return to the Dollmaking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Painted Muslin Dolls

Posted by
PhoenixFire
(Mmm@mmm.com) on
Tue, May 29, 01 at 14:10

I've been to a few sites that say the have made the dolls out of muslin then painted it....what exactly does this mean?

Is it that cheapie muslin that dentists use and is at the craft shop (the really thin one) or is it really cheesecloth or calico or something?

Do they just make the doll, stuff it hoping that they done bust a seam etc then lacquer it paint it and lacquer again?

Help i have never heard of this type of dollmaking before. I am a beginner and have yet to make my first doll.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Painted Muslin Dolls

Hi, you can just paint on regular muslin. I have a couple of books that tell about it. You make your doll, and then paint on it, like black boots. It will dry and look nice.

o

I, too, am trying to learn about painting on muslin and have questions if someone would be so kind as to answer. I have searched on the internet but with little luck.

I understand that you just paint directly on the fabric. I read that you should wash and dry the fabric but not use fabric softener or sheets. Do you pre-treat the fabric otherwise - like with a primer or acrylic base coat?? Do you seal afterwards? Do you use regular acrylic paint? I have fabric paint but it gives a "puff" look which I don't want.

I'm trying to achieve what I call a primitive "leather" look. I've seen this on dolls and other primitive things (animals, ornaments, etc.).

I appreciate any help anyone can offer!
Kammie

o

I have always just used regular acrylic paint and when dry I spray with a finish...matt or shiny depending on what look I am going for but spraying a finish is not really necessary. If you have every gotten acrylic paint on a shirt, you know that it is very permanent......

o