Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
akthompson_gw

Termites in Yard: Cause for Concern?

akthompson
16 years ago

While I was planting fall bulbs yesterday, I noticed a mess of termites crawling in the soil near our house. We have a 1949 brick home. We haven't seen any evidence inside the house of termites (house is built on a concrete foundation). There are a lot of tree roots throughout the yard... Maybe termites could be feasting on sunken roots?

We moved in two years ago and had a termite inspection that came back clear. Does the presence of termites in the soil mean that we should call a pest company out? Thanks - I'm still new at this. ;)

Comments (8)

• yborgal
    16 years ago

Sounds like subterranean termites. They burrow under the soil and create tunnels to crawl in to climb the walls and into the "innards" of your home.

You mentioned concrete foundation, but is your home concrete block or brick? In our last home they created tunnels between the brick and concrete walls. We only found them because of damage to the frame of a nearby window.

We now have a bait system in place and we sleep better because of it.

• davidandkasie
    16 years ago

they will also come up thru ANY crack/opening in the foundation. and i don't care how solid your house is, ALL houses on a concrete slab have a crack somewhere. heck, where the plumbing comes up is usually a 12x12 hole, sometimes bigger.

• suburbanmd
    16 years ago