Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
angelcake_gw

Water damage question

angelcake
9 years ago

Hello, I am new to gardenweb and wow what a fantastic community. I have a question I was hoping someone could help with. Around ten days ago we had a dishwasher supply line burst a pin hole leak ruining all of our first floor hardwoods, cabinets and run through to unfinished basement. This happened on Friday and we started remediation the following Monday. Today I received report saying this was a category 2 water damage (significantly contaminated) this was clean water that dripped through to the basement and under hardwoods. While the crew was remediating they told me on several occasions how we were lucky it was a clean water damage. They also stated on the report that they put down microbial a (!which I am sure they did not,) Also they stated the damage came from a pipe which I questioned and they said their software limited them putting in water supply line. I am uncomfortable with these things. Does this sound right? I had other problems with them along the way. Thank you for any insight as I am pondering what I should do.

Comments (10)

• greg_2010
    9 years ago

I'm confused what you are worried about. Is it that they aren't doing a good job or is that they aren't reporting the problem correctly to the insurance company?
    Would your insurance company cover the damage if it was clean water? Maybe the remediation company is doing you a favour by 'pretending' it was dirty water.
    I think I heard of somebody who's basement got flooded and the insurance company denied the claim because it was just ground water. However, a sewage backup would have been covered.

• littlebug5
    9 years ago

I, too, don't understand.