Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
janmd_gw

yellow paint disaster

janMD
20 years ago

Painted Behr's Banana Split, which is a pretty bright yellow, over a deep taupe and a greyed purple. Used primer first. After 3 coats of paint, it still looks blotchy and garrish. We're considering starting again with a lighter tint of yellow. Anybody have any suggestions?

Comments (7)

• alex399
    20 years ago

Well, you have two problems... First is the brand of paint. I know a lot of homeowners here have said they like Behr, but I've used many different brands, and personally find Ben Moore to be the best. (But what do I know, I just do it for a living)

Second is the color. Yellows just dont cover very well. And it's not every yellow either. The creamy linen white type yellows use a much darker, browner tint in the paint. The bright big-bird type yellows use a very light pigment that just doesnt hold together very well. Even a top brand paint will have trouble covering with a "bright" yellow. If you have enough paint, just do another coat. If you already ran out, go to a real paint store (NOT Home Depot), have them color match the paint to a better brand. It can be done easily.

• Ina Plassa_travis
    20 years ago

yellow by nature is a transluscent paint, and even the Home Depot nimrod should have asked you what you were coloring over...yellow will never color over purple, no matter how 'neutral' it is.

the 'blotchy' and 'garish' are two different problems, however... one is caused by improper priming, the other is caused either by bleeding - or it's just the wrong color.

you might want to try repriming the worst wall, and coloring it again- just to see if it IS fizable.

I have had some walls that just would not give up the ghost of colors past- and the only fix I have found is to paint the dratted thing black, and then prime over THAT.

• Neil_5chicago
    20 years ago