Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
abbey_cny

shutting off water before vacation ?

abbey_cny
11 years ago

I recently saw a bit on DIY Network about preventing potential water damage while on vacation. It showed how to shut off the water at the sink, toilets, washer, etc. Would it be just as effective to shut off the water to the whole house while on vacation? That would require one shut off instead of running to multiple rooms to individually do the shut offs. Just curious as I have never done this before but would like to before my next vacation, and I want to do it the proper way to avoid a disaster!

Thanks.

Abbey

Comments (41)

• mike_kaiser_gw
    11 years ago

Yes, turning off the water at the main valve would accomplish the same thing. I'm familiar with a family that had a line burst during an extended vacation doing many thousands of dollars worth of damage. An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.

• abbey_cny
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks Mike! It seemed like shutting off the main water valve would accomplish the same thing, but I know that sometimes things aren't quite as simple as they appear, so I wanted to make sure.

Abbey

• rwiegand
    11 years ago

If you have a boiler fed by your main water supply you wouldn't want to turn it off in the wintertime lest you return to a lot of frozen pipes.

• abbey_cny
    Original Author
    11 years ago

No boiler to worry about thank goodness! Most of my vacations are in the warmer weather which precludes the possibility of frozen pipes. But I appreciate the advice!

Abbey

• dedtired
    11 years ago

Yes! Turn off the water. My friend's house was nearly destroyed by a flood in the house when they were away.

• texasredhead
    11 years ago

The most common sourse of water problems is ice maker lines that go through an attic. Ours doesn't and I have never shut off water even when we are gone for a couple of weeks.

• Confire
    11 years ago