Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
erinbx01

Carpenter Ants/moisture in walls

erinbx01
21 years ago

Hello to all-just moved into a new place and found out I have carpenter ants. I had the ants treated (they drilled into the walls and injected insecticide) but they said the drywall was very moist throughout the house. My main concern now is finding the source of the moisture. I don't know what type of professional to call to try and locate the source of the water. Any ideas or comments on carpenter ants would be appreciated!

Comments (7)

• ranchhand
    21 years ago

I have had lots of trouble with these guys, and I will tell you what I discovered (not that I'm an expert by any means)!

Carpenter ants live in dead/rotting wood, and build their nests. They do not kill trees or attack fresh, healthy wood, but set up nests in dead wood.

Going back over 25 year period, every time I had an onslaught of carpenter ants invade my home, there was ALWAYS dead wood in the immediate vicinity. As soon as I found the dead tree/dead limb/ rotting stump/ etc. etc. the ants disappeared in one day (no kidding!).

It's possible they may have formed a nest inside your house, but I would carefully check a perimeter up to 60 feet radius around your home. I found them once by going out after dark with a powerful flashlight, and , sure enough, there was a two-lane line of them going back and forth from a big elm 50 ft. away to my house, up the foundation and under the siding. I sprinkled diazonin around the base of the tree and that stopped it in one day. I got a tree man out, and my tree had Dutch Elm disease, and actually was dying. The ants were in a dead limb 50 ft. up in the air. I had the tree cut down, and no more problems. When the men cut the dead limb, thousands of carpenter ants ran in every direction.