Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cyd1900

Bleach product discolored my kitchen countertop!

Cyd1900
21 years ago

I used Clorox Cleanup in my kitchen to clean and disinfect. It works great! My kitchen countertops stain easily from food spills. I have used this product in the past to remove these stains without any problems. Recently, I used it on some stains around my kitchen sink and let it sit awhile before wiping it up. Now I have these yellow stains on my countertop that won't go away. Since this incident, I have found out that bleach can permanently discolor your countertops if left on too long. I don't know what material my countertop is (maybe Formica). I am desperate to remove this discoloration since I rent this place. Can anyone help me??!!

Comments (70)

• toxcrusadr
    9 years ago

As a chemist, I'm darn curious about what's in jewelry cleaner that can do this.

Presumably the bleach oxidized something. Maybe jewelry cleaners have reducing agents (to turn tarnish back into silver) that can reverse whatever reaction that was.

• toxcrusadr
    9 years ago

So far, all I've learned is that Connoisseur's has thiourea in it (also an ingredient in TarnX) along with sulfuric acid and detergents (alcohol ethoxylates). Haven't figured out what the function of thiourea is. Probably only interesting to me.

I did learn the Conn's product has a pH of 1.25, though. :-o Don't get any on ya.

• becky_richards08
    8 years ago

OMG!!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you for the Silver Jewelry cleaner suggestion. I use this on all my silver jewelry so I had it in the house. I had tried EVERYTHING to get these yellow bleach stains off my counter. I thought we were going to have to replace the countertops...and then I tried this. Not only did it work on the new stains, but it worked on really old stains. My countertops now look brand new! I think they look better than theyve ever looked. Amazing...

• josephene_gw
    8 years ago

Great