Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scooper25

Help my grout turned blue in spots from Comet

scooper25
9 years ago

Hi Unfortunately I was trying to clean my new Bathroom tiled shower floor(small hexagon). It seemed to be dirty in spots from the workmen. I used some kitchen type sprays with no luck then tried Comet (I know I should of researched this first) but must not rinsed throughly I think. So now I have a few areas that blue ugh.
Not knowing anything about tiling I was thinking maybe they could just go over whole area with new thin layer of grout? Would that work?
Any other suggestions appreciated!
thanks

Comments (12)

• toxcrusadr
    9 years ago

Was the Comet blue or do you think it turned the grout blue with some kind of reaction? I thought Comet was green but what do I know. I have not heard of this happening but I'm not a grout expert.

If it's a pigment (dye) you could try cleaning it with something that will destroy it, like Soft Scrub Cleanser with Bleach or another product with bleach, or Oxy Clean, etc.

• scooper25
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Hi thanks for the reply the comet was green? I was also confused also why it looks blue? IâÂÂll try another cleaner like you mentioned. Thx

• toxcrusadr
    9 years ago

I searched for 'cleanser turns grout blue' and found some interesting form postings and other links. You might try that. Also, I learned they sell Grout Whitening cleaner. :-]

• sunnyca_gw
    9 years ago