Return to the Diet Club Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o

Posted by deb0615 (My Page) on
Fri, Sep 16, 05 at 11:07

hi i am deb 51 and needto lose weight. the real problem is i am majorly hypothyroid. i am a really high dose of meds. losing weight for me means to starve. i am 5'2 and am 198. i have gained 10 pounds recently, i have been waitng for a total knee replacement since july and have been unable to do alot bewcause of the pain. i have been a nurse for 30 yrs. and played softball until i was 37. i have always been active and still stayed over weight. i worked in my gardens like a horse (200 plants in ONE bed and had several beds) any suggestion or someone who has the same prblems would be greatly appreciated.
deb

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: newbie

Hi Deb!

WELCOME to Diet Chat!

I am a major hypothyroid person as well. I found that combining my Synthroid with a small dose of Cytomel is what helped me get off the spot and start losing weight. My doc is pretty forward thinking and works with me (blood tests every 6 months) to keep the combined doses right.

Exercise is a MUST to keep the weight off, but it is not a must for you to start losing weight. So you can start before you you get your knee replacement----it'll make healing easier anyway!

The weight comes off slowly, but at least it comes off! Heres some of the things Ive done to lose 23 pounds and over 15 inches this year, so far:

The first thing is I don't eat much salt. Yep, NO SALT, if you help it. It just absorbs water and weight that is a bully to get rid of! Toss your salt shaker and use anything else to season food! And avoid salt-loaded Chinese food too!

I have 6 meals a day:

Brekky: 300 cals

Snack: 100 cals

Lunch: 300 cals
Snack: 100 cals

Dinner: 3-400 cals

Dessert: 100 cals or a Hansens diet soda (no calories, no sodium) if I am feeling like I ate too many calories that day.

I do not count calories, but these are estimates for each meal. And I NEVER skip a meal or a snack----dont under eat!