Return to the Diet Club Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Learning to Cope with Diabetes

Posted by betty_the_villages (My Page) on
Sun, Feb 19, 06 at 21:08

If you are intersted in learning more about living with Diabetes, please write me. I am interested in the same. I am learning a lot.
Next month I am signed up in a class here at a hospital with a Dietician to learn more about eating and living with this diseare.
I will be so happy to pass on anything I am learning.
God Bless!
Just email me.

bettebee2ATcomcast.net

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Learning to Cope with Diabetes

I am a nurse who is referring this to 2 of my patients.

Thanks

Tikanas

o

Diabetic II. for a year now. Had done well so far and lost 40 lbs. From a size 16 to a size 8 but now I seem to be struggling a lot more to stay on target and I seem to be hungrier more. Any suggestions or ideas??

o

Hello,
I have been a Diabetic II for about ten years. I am 59 and weigh about 143 pounds. Dream/need to get down to and maintain around 110. I am just a little over five feet tall, so this is probably a little more than I should weigh. I take three types of pills for diabetes, two types of anti-depressants, a cholesterol lowering drug (Vytorin) and Femara, an anti-cancer drug for five years after five years of Tamoxifen I already finished. Lots of pills to take! I have tried many diets and have some success with each, but have a devil of a time staying with anything long term. Like to cook and eat. Am a nervous eater and like to eat all the time.
I've heard that many people with diabetes people die of some kind of heart disease. The South Beach diet was written by a cardiologist and is supposed to be great for diabetes patients. Wow, the first two weeks sound brutal. Can't even get the guts to start!
Getting off most of the medicine is a goal, and the best way to do that is to lose weight and be active. Anyone heard of anyone getting off all/most of the diabetes medicines? Any encouraging advice?

o