Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rain2_gw

LOOKING for: layered desserts or trifles

rain2
16 years ago

I'm looking for desserts or trifles especially for Christmas.

Comments (8)

• lindac
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

This sounds very good to me....you can substitute instant vanilla pudding for the custard powder.
    Linda C

Here is a link that might be useful: Christmas Trifle

• ann_t
    16 years ago

I think that the secret to a great trifle is the homemade cake and the custard. I've been making this recipe for over 30 years.

Home Cookin Chapter: Recipes From Thibeault's Table

Patty's English Trifle
    ======================
    Cake
    1/4 Pound butter
    1 cup fruit sugar
    2 eggs
    2 cups flour
    3/4 cup milk
    1 Tablespoon Baking powder
    2 teaspoon vanilla

Custard
    3 egg yolkss
    1/4 cup sugar
    1 Tablespoon Corn Starch
    2 1/3 cups milk
    1 Teaspoon vanilla
    Raspberry preserves
    Cream Sherry
    Raspberries or Blueberries
    Whipping
    cream
    . Preheat oven to 350 Cream butter and sugar together until light and
    fluffy. Add eggs and beat until smooth. Sift Flour and baking powder
    together. Add flour to butter mixture along with milk. Add vanilla.
    Pour into buttered 9 X 13 inch pan and bake for approximately 30 to 40
    minutes or until golden. Scald milk. Beat egg yolks with sugar and
    cornstarch. Add scalded milk to egg mixture. Cook until thickened. Add
    vanilla and cool with plastic wrap on surface of custard. This will
    prevent a skin from forming. To assemble - Cut cake in half and then
    slice horizontally and then spread with raspberry preserves that have
    been thinned with Sherry. Cut cake into chunks and place a layer of
    cake in Trifle or glass bowl. Sprinkle with Sherry. Pour some of the
    custard over cake and add fresh raspberries or blueberries. Repeat the
    layers. Refrigerate. For best results, assemble in the bowl one ay