Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alison_col

LOOKING for: Ricotta pie like Mike's Pastry in Boston!

alison
18 years ago

A friend here in Columbus told me about Mike Pastry in Boston's north end, and the fabulous ricotta pie they make. Next time I went to visit a college buddy in Boston we went to check it out and now he's addicted.

But he doesn't get into town very often, and he's asked me for a recipe. I confess, I'm not very good at replicating dishes, so I'm turning to y'all.

Anyone here have a recipe that replicates Mike's? Or failing that, a good, creamy ricotta pie recipe you swear by?

Thanks!

Comments (20)

• ann_t
    18 years ago

Alison, there are lots of different recipes for Ricotta Pie. Unfortunately I have never tried Mike's Pastry pie so I'm not sure exactly what it is like but I found a few recipes for you that sound good. I might even try one of these myself.

Ann

King Arthus Ricotta Pie Recipe

Claire's Corner Copia

Ricotta Pie (Italian Village Restaurant) Recipe Link

3lbs. Ricotta
    1 pint light cream
    1/2 c. flour
    2 c. sugar
    1 tsp. vanilla extract 9 eggs
    1 tsp. lemon extract

Beat the eggs until thick. Add the sugar and beat well. Add the vanilla, lemon and cream and flour. Mix well. Grease a baking dish well and pour the cheese mixture in. Before putting in the oven, decorate with thin orange slices. Bake at 350 for 1 1/2 hours.

• HanArt
    18 years ago

Alison, sorry, no help here, but Mike's is a "must" when we visit Boston. Their ricotta pie is a favorite of one of our niece's.

• paulines
    18 years ago

Have you guys tried Mike's cannolis - to die for!

• shaun
    18 years ago

Hey Paulines! I have!! My neighbor just got home from Boston and he had cannolis shipped here. OMG absolutely to die for. I've never in my life had a better cannolis. Ever.

I think they'll ship anywhere!

• shaun
    18 years ago

Lookie here!!

Here is a link that might be useful: Mike's Pasty in Boston

• paulines
    18 years ago