Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
laydeebug72

Should I decorate tenants portion of the house?

laydeebug72
11 years ago

We have a home where we have converted a portion to 2 studio apartments. There are tenants in living in both apartments. This is my first year with tenants and I'm wondering if I should or should not decorate that portion of the house and leave it to them to make their own decision since it is their space? Or, do I unify the whole house on the outside with my Christmas decor?

Comments (12)

• lolauren
    11 years ago

I would leave it to them, or at the very least, ask if they would like it. Perhaps they don't celebrate Christmas or perhaps the twinkling lights would give someone a migraine. You never know.

• gmp3
    11 years ago

I agree, ask. They may welcome it, or as lolauren said have reasons for not wanting your decor.

• palimpsest
    11 years ago

Technically you own the exterior of the building and can decorate as you see fit, but I would not do anything that would cast a lot of light inside their units.

I would not decorate your part of the house and leave the tenant part bare if it makes your house look lopsided. You will have to achieve a balance, which may mean decorating your exterior a bit less than you usually do.

• camlan
    11 years ago

I agree with Pal that it would look odd to see part of the house decorated and the rest completely bare.

My brother lives in half a duplex. The owner of the other side of the duplex likes to decorate for the holiday. Since they share a small front porch, she asked my brother about the decorating. He now gives her a small sum for the year, and she decorates the entire porch for Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, and Easter. My brother doesn't mind the decorations; he's just never going to decorate himself. So they are both happy.

Ask your tenants. Or, if you want to outline the whole roof line in lights, tell them that is what you usually do and ask if it will pose a problem for them.