Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dicouris

Cabinet refinish to pull togther three rooms

Hello!

This is my first time posting, though I have been lurking and enjoying the home forms for quite a while. I would appreciate some opinions on a decorating dilemma. We are DIYers with many years of experience in home remodeling. We are in the midst of a lengthy whole house project I like to call the empty nest remodel.

We are approaching a kitchen reconstruction that will open the kitchen to the living room. The floor plan below is just a draft, but I wanted to show the basic layout. Our home is a typical New England Colonial.
The kitchen is already open to the dining room. The DR furniture is dark maple with a bit of a midcentury modern flair - I've shown the chair as an example. A prominent feature in the DR is a collection of colorful mid-century pottery (Fiesta, Hall, etc).

The wall to the left of the sink will come down, and in that space we plan a peninsula with seating. Placement of the cabinets & appliances is still a bit undetermined, but the important thing is that the cabinetry will become part of the LR.

We will refurnish the LR, so the only real decorative anchor in the LR is this salvaged oak mantelpiece, which was once painted white and was partially stripped when we found it. Our plan was to clean it up and finish it with liming wax. For the hearth we planned a slab of Barre granite (to match the steps at the entrances). It's a pretty rustic look, and when we planned this design we hadn't envisioned opening the room to the kitchen. With the change to the floor plan, we find that we are completely without a vision for the style of the kitchen and LR.