Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mtnrdredux_gw

estate sale expertise

mtnrdredux_gw
12 years ago

We are under contract (again) on our old house and we have some furnishings to sell. I don't think I need a professional, I have a bunch of friends who said theyd help, plus it is not a whole house sale which in that area estate sales usually are.

A few questions. Is it ridiculous to try it before Christmas, like the week before on a Sat and Sunday? That would be the best. First weekend in January? We dont have a lot of small items so I dont think much of this is holiday or impulse shopping ...

Second, is there any way for an individual to take credit cards (I know the interchange fee would be high but who cares). Either we dont sell anything or a fair number of items will go for North of $1000, so taking cards would be good. I wonder if there is a way to "rent" card capability?

tia

Comments (21)

• 4boys2
    12 years ago

I'm sorry I'm not an expert.
    But I'll play one here..
    I've seen people offer to accept Paypal on Craigslist but I don't know how that works.
    Just a thought :>

• gsciencechick
    12 years ago

With Christmas being on the weekend--just realized this today, I don't know if the weekend before is a good idea for last minute shoppers or not.

You can always set up a paypal account to take credit cards at the estate sale. Of course, you'd have to have wireless capabilities and then probably a printer, too.

• sheesh
    12 years ago

Almost everyone who shops at your kind of sale expects to pay cash. Stipulate cash only in the ads, or give buyers 24 hours to come back with the cash after leaving a "downpayment" with you.

I know someone who sold her furniture at her house sale the week before xmas two or three years ago.

• lolauren
    12 years ago