Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
judymckib

Painting of paneled walls and trim

Judy McKibben
16 years ago

I posted this once before, but cannot find it. Is there a trick? I'm new to this. Anyhow, when you have paneled walls, do they have to be painted the same color as the trim? Or, could the walls be painted cream, for example, and the trim white? Is there a rule about this? Thanks very much.

Comments (24)

• theroselvr
    16 years ago

We were going to do this a few years ago and were told that we needed a bottle of stuff that got the paneling ready for paint. We never did paint it, ended up sheet rocking last year.. not sure what happened to the stuff we bought. IIRC, it took the sheen off of the paneling and if we didn't use it, the paint might not stick as well.

• msjay2u
    16 years ago

okay I have paneling all through my house and I just could not take it. so we caulked the seams where they had expanded carefully smoothing it out and filled all the holes with wood putty, sanded it smooth when dry then put one coat of latex primer on. We used satin finish latex paint.
    Hope this helps:
    all the walls looked dark like this before:
    {{!gwi}}

you do have to paint in the grooves first:
    {{!gwi}}

this wall was already painted a flat yellow in the KITCHEN
    {{!gwi}}

this is after in the kitchen
    (no primer used on this one since the paint was already flat) oh and excuse the mess I just took the picture and I am on a break from washing up the dishes. (looks like that was the case in the before shot too LOL) also you see there is no trim on the ceiling line yet. we are replacing the trim with white crown

{{!gwi}}
    more "during" shots
    {{!gwi}}

we have not painted the trim around the door yet or in the "closet: (its an old house) but it will be the same color as the trim in the previous shot

{{!gwi}}

I would not put drywall on my walls for anything. I think the painted wood has so much more character!!