Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
czecheart

thin or thick

czecheart
11 years ago

Think or Thick TRIM that is :)

I'm new to this decorating forum, have been too busy getting kitchen ideas from the nice people over on the Kitchen forum.

Since we are very soon redoing our kitchen , which is open and central to the rest of the rooms on the first floor , we are now finding ourselves adressing what to do with each of those rooms.

We have done some updating over the years and always tried to keep the window and floor trim consistent throughout. We're updating from warm beige brown oak to light and bright whites. No matter what we'll be painting the trim to match the cabinets , dove whitish. Noticed wider trim is more trendy. It would fit great in our new home style too. However it seems like a big job/expense if it isn't going to make a big difference. Then what about the rest of the house, like the entire upstairs.

So how important do you think it is to widen up the door and floor mouldings and trim ? If we modernize the rooms will we be OK without changing out the narrower trim to a thicker trim? Have you done it?

Thanks.

Comments (5)

• yayagal
    11 years ago

Sure you'll be okay, most people never notice an extra width of trim. I'd put the money in wall art or something you love.

• chibimimi
    11 years ago

I think the money to upgrade the trim would be well spent. Not because wider trim is trendy, but because it is a mark of quality. It gives a house good bones. It implies that someone thought carefully about the house and it wasn't just slapped up.

I hate to disagree with yaya, but I DO think people will notice; they just might not notice that they noticed. But they will think more highly of your home because of it.

If a house doesn't have good architectural elements, like trim, the nicest decor is just lipstick on a pig.

• chispa
    11 years ago