Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
anniedeighnaugh

Where to put the colors....

Annie Deighnaugh
11 years ago

My next project is to make an afghan for DH's bed. The colors are going to be gold, navy, burgundy and ivory as those colors are in the drapes and the walls are gold.

I've never tried making a crocheted quilt before, so I thought I'd give it a try. You crochet small (2") granny squares and then sew them together much like you would a regular quilt. (Lots and lots of small squares! Yikes!) I came up with a nice 4-color pattern, but the choice is entirely mine as to which color to use where on the pattern...it's almost like designing a fabric as the pattern looks so different depending on where you put the dark and the light.

I've put some together electronically and would love to get a vote on which one is best. The pics came out kind of small, and I don't know how to fix all the white space.

Anyway, which one do you prefer?

Comments (18)

• SunnyCottage
    11 years ago

Such lovely designs! You're so talented! To a new knitter such as myself, this looks like an incredibly ambitious project, but I know that you know what you're doing, and I can't wait to see the final result of your work! I am most drawn to Pattern #1, because to my eye, the design just seems to pop out a bit more at me, for some reason. Pattern #2 would be my second choice. Somehow, the others feel a bit more "busy" to me.

• chickadee2_gw
    11 years ago

I like #2 the best. The ones with a lot of white seem very busy to me, and if you're going to all that work, I think #2 is more versatile to use in other rooms as well.

• nanny2a
    11 years ago

# 2 caught my eye, as well!

• Annie Deighnaugh
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Hmmm, I'm leaning toward 2 as well. DH likes it because he tends to sit on the bed with his work clothes on so wants something that's darker....

Amazing how different they look just based on where you put the color....

• juliekcmo
    11 years ago