Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bumblebeezgw

Are you a Big Picture person?

Or do you focus in on the minutiae while oblivious to everything else?

I used to be that way and still fight it; sometimes it's money, easier to spend a hundred than larger amounts that require research time and hired labor (or saving for something) but the internet is beguiling also, easy to click on a "thing" instead of hiring someone to do something that is really needed/productive/noticeable.

I have also seen people carefully save for the big picture, have it well executed, and be oblivious to the small details (more $$$$) that would really make it look great.

Comments (18)

• tibbrix
    9 years ago

Ah! My degree is in philosophy, and when I was considering making it my major, I was talking to the chairmen of the philo department, and he told me that philosophers think differently than most. Most people think like a pyramid, i.e.: small down to big, while philosophers think the opposite way. They think like a pyramid sitting on its tip, top down - broad thinking to narrowing it down. That is exactly how I think It can be very obnoxious for others.

• awm03
    9 years ago

Definitely a big picture person. I can do architecture/color schemes/basic layouts but can't do details like accessories or fabric coordination or compositions.

I considered being a philosophy major! Instead, I passed those pondering genes to my son, who was a philosophy major.

• Christy Bell
    9 years ago

Nope - small picture/details

• tomatofreak
    9 years ago

Big picture. Nothing is more maddening than being partnered to someone who sees one little detail/task/purchase at a time. That's the way to spend time and money like a sailor and still not get what you want or expected.

• sas95
    9 years ago

Big picture by nature but I work in a profession where small details are also important. So I can do both, though my preference is not to get too bogged down in details.

• Fun2BHere
    9 years ago