Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
valinsv

How to go about choosing fabric for dining room chairs

Valerie Noronha
15 years ago

I want to get started on refurbishing my dining room chairs. Basically, I plan to remove the seat cushions, clean and use Restore-a-Finish on the frames, then put new batting and fabric on the seat cushions.

I'm just getting started in fabric selection for the seat covers and need some suggestions of what types of fabric to look for--that are fairly easy to work with as well as more stain resistant. I'd love to work some stripes into the room, but perhaps that would be too difficult for a DIY project.

{{!gwi}}

Built-in buffet:

{{!gwi}}

Close up of rug:

{{!gwi}}

Close up of drapes:

{{!gwi}}

What are some good sources for ordering fabric online. What about eBay? Any good brands and/or types of material to search for?

Comments (23)

• maymester
    15 years ago

Beautiful,classic DR furniture! I just covered 10 DR chairs with fabric I ordered online from FabricGuru. It was so inexpensive and you can order samples which come very quickly. Maybe a burgundy/gold woven for your seats?

Here is a link that might be useful: DR chair fabrics

• loribee
    15 years ago

Lovely room! I went to Joann's with coupon in hand and got a neutral fabric~ we found a honey colored chenille that's comfy and will go with anything. :) Good luck!

• ingrid_vc so. CA zone 9
    15 years ago

I think stripes, perhaps in beige, red and blue to go with the rug, would really add drama to this room. The furniture is really beautiful and I think your idea of recovering the chairs would add so much. Since you already have patterns in your rug and carpet I think stripes would be perfect, although I have no idea how difficult that would be.