Return to the Home Decorating Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
A Christmas garland question

Posted by osuladybug (My Page) on
Sat, Nov 22, 08 at 16:04

I haven't been logged in recently so I hope I am not asking a question that has already been asked. But can anyone give me ideas on how to hang garland on an oak staircase and oak balcony. We just put in a new loft and I have never done this before. I ordered what I hope is soft greenery from Ballards ( angel pine) and I really don't want to scratch up the oak!! Help!! I am decorator challenged!

Thank you in advance!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: A Christmas garland question

This is mine from last year on oak. I used those plastic cable ties. My garland is 3- 40ft pre-lit strands.
Photobucket

I purchased them at Costco last year. I wouldn't call them soft but they didn't leave any scratches.

o

Use ribbon and just tie a bow every few feet

o

I don't have a pic, sorry, but the way I secure mine is by twisting 2 branches of the garland together under the bannister every other stair or so.
It doesn't show and it's easy to put up and take down.
I've never had a problem with my garlands scratching anything and I use fairly inexpensive ones (I dress them up with ribbon and lights and they look beautiful).

o

I used those really soft pipe cleaners that you can get at any craft store, I got mine at Michael's in a green color, just twist some together, what ever length that you need.

o

Hi.......I have those little clips that slide over the banister. Ordered them from some catalog last winter but I think Kirkland's has them also around Christmas time. Here is a pic if you wanna peek! Bonnie

Here is a link that might be useful: Bonnie's 2007 Christmas

o