Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hunzi_gw

Aura vs Ellen Kennon ICI paints (cross post)

hunzi
15 years ago

I asked this on the paint forum too, but I know a lot of people here are paint experts, so I figured I'd cross post this.

Has anyone used both Aura and Ellen Kennon's paints? How do they compare in paint quality/application/clean-up? What about durability/wash ability?

I've only ever used BM Regal paints before (but I could have sworn it was a latex back 10yrs ago), so I don't know how to compare them.

I'm attracted to both the Affinity and EK FS colors, but I want to know how the actual paint performs. I have kids with grubby hands and a German shepherd who tends to dirty up the walls, so I need to be able to wash down the walls once in a while. I also really want a flat paint because I live in a 125yr old house, which means the walls are definitely not perfect!

Always ;-)

Hunzi

Comments (5)

• nmladybug
    15 years ago

Hi Hunzi,
    I am by no means an expert but I do have both Aura and EK paint in my house. Currently the office, playroom and a bathroom are EK and the kitchen, family room and breakfast nook are BM Aura. The dining room is SW (I like to be fair :)) I would say that the paint I am most impressed with in terms of quality is the Aura. It does take a wall or two to get the hang of how to apply it but the coverage and durability is absolutely amazing. I personally don't think they did too well with the color selection but if you do find one you like I would say to absolutely go with it.

The colors offered by EK are by far the prettiest. However, IMO I think the actually quality of the paint (ICI if I remember correctly) is just so-so. There is absolutely nothing special about the actual paint as far as I can tell. If I had to go back and do it over I don't think I would have used EK in the playroom or bathroom b/c of the wear and tear in those rooms.

Hope this helps!

• amysrq
    15 years ago