Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
txmarti

Thoughts about wall stencils?

TxMarti
10 years ago

I've been painting the whole house Antique White in preparation for selling. I was going to go with a very light blue gray but it looked baby blue during the day and a lot of my greens and grays didn't look good with it.

However, the Antique White doesn't look great in either bath, and I thought of leaving the blue gray in there and stencil with the Antique White to connect it to the bedroom.

But I don't see any stencils or wallpaper in other homes for sale in my area, so I wonder what buyers in my area would think of it.

I have a small house and I know it will flow better if all the rooms are the same color.

If stencil, should it be a very modern type?

Here's the bathroom with Glazed Pears before I painted it gray blue. The Antique White is a lighter shade.

Here with the gray blue

And here with the Antique White I started painting last night (which actually looks better in this photo.

{{!gwi}}

Comments (25)

• sjhockeyfan325
    10 years ago

I wouldn't stencil. I think most buyers will look at it and assume they will have to repaint. It's a nice bathroom as is. Maybe hang some towels in a light blue color?

• TxMarti
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Good point sjhockeyfan. And blue towels would probably be better than blue walls. I don't know if I'm relieved to hear that or not; I'm not looking forward to painting over the shower and cabinet again. lol

• sjhockeyfan325
    10 years ago

Actually, I like the grey-blue, so I wouldn't necessarily repaint!

• andee_gw
    10 years ago

I don't think you have to connect the bedroom and the bath, necessarily. The blue in the bath looks better (at least in the picture). And since it is a light blue, it is not a sharp contrast with the antique white in the bedroom. Maybe use antique white towels!

• lavender_lass
    10 years ago