Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sarahb84_gw

Christmas Lighting Ideas

sarahb84
11 years ago

Hello all!

I would like to generate few Christmas Lighting ideas for this year and I need your help! Of course I am planning to decorate the tree. But this year I want my husband to help me put lighting outside the house as well.

Running extension cords from the outlets or electrical wiring should not be an issue. What I am wondering is how can I make the lights flash! I already have some static lights for the trees. I am planning to buy for the outdoors.

Is there any device or gadget I can buy locally or order online that can make my static lights animating the way I want? I want to have total control over the blinking patterns or flash!

I am a complete newbie in electronics! So, please help me find a solution.

- Sarah

Comments (33)

• mtnrdredux_gw
    11 years ago

nooooooooooooooooooooo..................

• terezosa / terriks
    11 years ago

I hate flashing lights!

• mtnrdredux_gw
    11 years ago

no, i just mean ... Christmas? Now? October 4th? please!!

• chispa
    11 years ago

Shouldn't we first discuss orange lights (blinking or not) for halloween!

I have bought lights that come with a little controller box as part of the wiring. The box allows you to select from several different static/blink settings. I got these a few years ago. Lights have gotten cheaper in quality and I haven't seen this type recently, but I haven't been actively shopping for lights, so they might still be out there. I have always kept the outside light with NO blink setting. It would be hard to coordinate them all and it would be a flashing mess ...

I do use the adjustable lights on the tree and sometimes choose to have it twinkle!

• Annie Deighnaugh
    11 years ago