Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dirtyshoes_gw

Should I get it or.....

dirtyshoes
9 years ago

Hello all,

I have the opportunity to purchase this Tell City dining set. I looove the lines of the chairs and I can see it already in my dining area. Not sure thought if I should bite the bullet and buy or not. It's going for $350.00.

Let's see if I can upload the picture....it's my first time.

Can't wait for your verdicts!

Comments (16)

• TxMarti
    9 years ago

I like it, and it looks perfect. Are the sides hinged? As far as price, I can't advise.

• k9arlene
    9 years ago

The chairs don't look particularly comfortable.

• palimpsest
    9 years ago

It's solid stuff. The chair backs are a bit upright and the through joinery of the leg making the seat corners higher can make the chairs uncomfortable for long-term seating.

• tibbrix
    9 years ago

I always advise against getting rush chairs, because if/when it starts unraveling, or tears, or whatever, you're kind of stuck. I also agree that those chairs tend to not be very comfortable. For $350, I'd keep looking.

• pugga
    9 years ago

Just had to chime in to say that is the exact dining room set my family had when I was growing up. My parents bought it around 1956 and had the chairs until at least the mid-1980s. We used four at the kitchen table and then had another two or four in the dining room, along with matching host chairs that had arms.

Three kids, various friends and animals lived with these. I don't remember them being particularly uncomfortable but they probably weren't all that comfortable either.

• Errant_gw
    9 years ago

If you love it, get it! It's a good price for sturdy rock maple furniture :)

• dirtyshoes
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thank you all for your comments....keep 'em coming!

Martin8a...the table is hinged on both sides. I haven't seen the table yet, but the owner said that the sides do come down.