Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
asam33

grout color question!

asam33
9 years ago

I am grouting tonight for the first time and asked my friends what I should use for the tile I selected (see photo). All of them said tan color. What would you guys use?

I bought some stuff and it has the color on the box in photo, what do you guys think?

I am not very good at visualizing.

The room will have oak trim and tan colorored granite top and tan colored stacked stone backsplash

Comments (17)

• nancyocean
    9 years ago

I have real stained oak and the cracks between wood planks look very dark brown or even black. I would choose the darkest color that's in the tile. Don't worry about any of the other tile or colors in the room. I think you want it to look like real wood, not tile, correct?

• deegw
    9 years ago

kitchenlover makes a great point. Plus dark grout won't need to be cleaned as often.

• asam33
    Original Author
    9 years ago

so what color would you guys go with? The darkest color is like that brown, is that what you guys would use? Or would you guys go with a black?

• nanny2a
    9 years ago

Black would be too harsh. IâÂÂd use brown if it were my house.

• User
    9 years ago

I'd go with a dark brown and agree black would be harsh. Tan would really stick out, IMO.

• jterrilynn
    9 years ago

After you think you picked a color that exactly matches go two or three shades darker. That's the trick of making it look its best.

Edited to add...you might try Expresso. It dries a tic lighter than shown on chit but is a nice dark brown. A 2nd choice would be chestnut brown but that may dry too light. Are you using Laticete?

This post was edited by jterrilynn on Wed, Oct 15, 14 at 18:27

• Olychick
    9 years ago