Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
julieschrader

Should I use glass or recessed curtain track for this shower?

Jules
10 years ago

The shower and tub area of my new master bath will look very similar to the photo below. I don't believe I need the glass wall between the shower and tub and will probably omit a divide altogether in that spot.

For the other pane that divides the shower and the wood floor, I'm considering using a curtain track recessed into the ceiling instead of glass. I'm not a big fan of glass shower doors and surrounds, usually opting for curtains instead.

Thoughts? Has anyone here used a ceiling mounted track for a shower curtain or seen one done in a fashionable (not hospital-y) way?

Comments (31)

• Jules
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Example of recessed track

• joaniepoanie
    10 years ago

Some questions might be....would the track rust and what would prevent water from trickling onto the wood floor with just a curtain? Secondly, I have no experience first-hand, but have heard that showers that are partially open like this are cold....think about how the air feels when you step out of an enclosed shower....even one with a curtain....it is cold.

• mtnrdredux_gw
    10 years ago

Juju,

I too am very tired of glass and would actually like to use a fabric shower curtains and old fashioned stalls with walls in our new project. No one agrees with me.

However, when we did out CT house (3 yrs ago), the GC acted like all the cool kids were putting in open showers, wet rooms, single panel guards, etc. And no step up, heaven forbid.