Return to the Home Decorating & Design Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What to do about flowers?

Posted by holly-kay (My Page) on
Mon, Oct 7, 13 at 11:34

I love flowers and the beauty they add to a room but I dread trying to arrange fresh flowers in a vase. So much so that I told DH to not ever buy me fresh flowers unless they are already arranged. I am not good at all with doing arrangements and my flowers turn out looking frumpy because I lack the design element gene critical to flower arranging.

I have a beautiful, old silver chocolate pot filled with dried hydrangeas on my breakfast table and a silver teapot with dried hydrangeas in the living room but they need replaced. I did both of those arrangements and neither look great. I sure hope this hard rain doesn't destroy the flowers that are still on our hydrangea bushes as I need to replace the old ones.

Are there silk flowers that are beautiful or do they all look sad and fake? If I go with fresh flowers I have to have a floral delivery every week and that gets not only expensive but isn't practical as I still go into my business every day and DH is not always available to accept deliveries.

What do the rest of you do? I can't imagine that I am alone in wanting the beauty of flowers but not having the technique to make fresh flowers look great.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What to do about flowers?

I know there are those who eschew the use of artificial flowers at all costs, but I am not one. I think clean, dust-free, life-like arrangements used sparingly can be attractive and add color to my house. I like NDI.com for non-custom arrangements. They are often available at a discount on flash sales sites like OneKingsLane.

For custom, I have a local gift store that will order quality stems and make arrangements for the cost of materials plus a $75 dollar fee.

o

I don't like floral arrangements per se. I find them old fashioned. I like one kind of flower, all cut the same length, in a very generous abundance.