Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stinky_gardener

Walk in shower vs. footed tub?

stinky-gardener
13 years ago

I posted this over on Bathrooms, but would really like to hear what y'all have to say about this:

I have a dated (1987) large master bath with one of those gigantic jetted tubs. We've been in the house over 4 yrs. & have never used the thing once. To top it off, it has a step attatched to it covered in carpet. That's right. A furry step. It's gross.

Here's my question. If you were re-doing the space, would you place another tub there, perhaps a footed tub? Or, would you use the ample space for a tiled, walk in shower?

The room does have one of those small, "plastic" shower stalls with a door. Guess if I went with a shower I could turn that small shower into a shelving unit or something.

In addition, it may be helpful to know that I am planning to rip out the bath tub with plastic surround in my guest bathroom very soon. I plan to put in a soaking tub there with a tile surround. Is one nice tub per household sufficient, or should each full-sized bathroom have a tub/shower option of some configuration?

Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!

Comments (21)

• trailrunner
    13 years ago

Oh wow I had almost the SAME exact thing in our master bath. I can tell you I was never so glad to get rid of anything in my life. I took out the jetted tub which we had never used...it held dirty clothes and our swim suits...and removed the plastic shower with the 80's era glass door. Before and after pics below. The pony wall replaced the full wall/door that was there for the pot room...hope this gives you ideas :) There is a huge skylight that was there before so it is now like an outdoor shower room.

jetted tub before :

sink area before :

glass door/shower before :

dark awful pot room :

AFTER : replaced sink area w/ pedestal sinks and a claw foot tub and the open walk in shower:

AFTER :

commode is behind pony wall and windows replaced glass block: