Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chloenkitty_gw

Does this make sense in the kitchen

chloenkitty
9 years ago

My white kitchen cabinets are installed. They are not custom, but cabinets my builder has used in many homes and are lovely nonetheless. They are from kabinart. The builder is putting crown molding on the top of the cabinets, which I like. I asked him about matching the white on the cabinets and he said they match the trim work in the house and everyone they have done that for has been fine with it. I am new to this, so maybe that's ok, but I feel like the molding above my cabinets should be the same color as the cabinets. Am I wrong? If it should, I assume a cabinet door can be taken to SW or BM or Lowe's even and color matched for the molding. What should I do, let them match trim or cabinets? To be honest, I don't know if there really is any trim in the kitchen as it's all cabinets and not much wall space etc for trim.

Comments (19)

• Errant_gw
    9 years ago

Crown on the cabinets should be the same color as the cabinets.

• chloenkitty
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Yes Errant, I think it would drive me crazy. It doesn't make sense to me, but aqain, I never built before so I was not sure. They said no one else ever had a problem with it, but I do. One other thing that bugs me is we are having built ins installed in the office and they won't put drawers on the bottom for us, they said it would be open. Then they said they could put cabinet doors. Why on earth won't they put drawers? Lazy? I'm sure builders have put drawers in built ins before for Pete's sake!

• chloenkitty
    Original Author
    9 years ago