Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sjhockeyfan325

DR Mantel Artwork Part II

sjhockeyfan325
9 years ago

The thread reached its upper limit before I could finish reading!

jterrilyn, so you have any idea of the prices of Alexander McKenzie's work?

I have no "knowledge" of art - I know what I like and don't like (emotionally/viscerally), and I know that I'd prefer to have something other than [dorm-room] posters in the dining room and living room.

The use of the word "print" is deceiving. "Original" prints, like lithographs, would be fine with me, but "pictures" of original art (posters, giclee -- who made up that word to fool people?) would not (after all, I can take a digital photo of an original artwork and blow it up myself -- but wouldn't do so).

Comments (9)

• vedazu
    9 years ago

Well, there are so many options and sources for original art that are, indeed, original and exhibit a professional level of craft/technique. Just for a start, I went to the online catalogue of a friend's online art auction business. I'm not trying to promote him--www.shapiroauctions.com--but the results of his last auction are posted underneath the images, so it is a basis for some examples of serious (not SERIOUS) art that is affordable. There are pictures there of some size--28 x 36, for example, that sold in the low thousands, even into the hundreds. You would have something that is vetted, that will appreciate, probably, and that you can display without apology. I like to use the plumber rule: How much do you pay your plumber? Think how many hours it takes to paint a good picture--and then pay that to acquire a piece of art that you can pass down the generations. I always feel regretful when I pay more for the framing than I do for what is inside the frame.

• mtnrdredux_gw
    9 years ago

OH WAIT, I am sorry .... I think this was not supposed to be about my thread? This is for SJ hockey

This post was edited by mtnrdredux on Thu, Sep 4, 14 at 17:24

• Errant_gw