Return to the Home Decorating & Design Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Are Stand Up Desks The New Trend?

Posted by martinca (My Page) on
Mon, Sep 1, 14 at 12:21

Wasn't sure which side to post this query. A rep in office furniture suggested this desk for my dd who spends too much time working at her desk sitting.......so unhealthy. Supposedly, many offices are going this route. Hard for me to imagine the comfort of this, and hoping to get experienced user reviews . Anyone?
TIA
Marti

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Are Stand Up Desks The New Trend?

Not me. I'm old school. Give me a chair.

o

Depends on how much time you spend sitting there. In the late 70's, I was a 411 operator for the phone co. Imagine the hours we sat there at the desks, but we did have some stations that were equipped for standing only. So it's not a new idea at all. We only had a few of those and they had a waiting list to use them! I think it would be a great idea to have a desk area equipped for standing or sitting. You'd need a motoriized stand to raise the computer , though.

o

It does seem to be a new trend in our offices. One person even had a treamill desk :) There are attachments you can buy to add to your cube or desk so that you don't hve to buy a whole new desk. They also raise and lower I believe so you can use it sitting or standing. I thnk it takes awhile to get used to standing all the time. some people seem to just do it for part of the day.

o

I guess it would work for some situations. You would want a gel mat or something to stand on, though.

o

AnitaMo is right, a desk equipped for either/or but that would not suit the PC crowd who can afford personal trainers and a spouse who dictates policy.

o

Just read an interesting article about this very thing. I'd love to have one with an option for sitting. Perhaps a bar stool?

Patricia, what do you mean by "a spouse who dictates policy"? You lost me :)

Here is a link that might be useful: Sitting is bad for you. So I stopped.

o