Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
daisybz

Room color

Daisybz
11 years ago

I am a newbie. We are buying a house that is 10 years old on an acreage. I'm not sure I am crazy about the color of green in the living room and entry halls. Also, not sure if we do change to a neutral beige or tan -- should we paint the ceiling in the rooms, or leave ceilings as is. Any suggestions? (furniture and decor will be mixed Mediterranean /french country/cozy furniture. Not floral print furniture as shown.) Also thought about glazing the green walls with a Van Dyke type brown. Any thoughts on that? Any and all comments are appreciated. Most room ceilings are white.

Comments (12)

• hilltop_gw
    11 years ago

I have/had a similar color in my home. I kept it in my dining area where we get a lot of natural sunlight - there the color's great. I tried it in my living room which has a vaulted ceiling (white) and it sucked the life out, especially at night. I ended up with a color somewhere between Sherwin William Navajo White and Ivoire and kept the white ceiling.

I don't know if I'd try the Van Dyke glazing - thinking it might make it look like a dirty green. Perhaps others can chime in.

Love the light fixture and wall of windows. Pretty view outside.

• suzanne_sl
    11 years ago

I like that green, but if it doesn't do it for you, by all means change it. If you do decide on something different, be sure to "audition" the new color(s) in the actual space. This looks like a room where the available light could really change the look of a color on the wall. When we've done this recently, we start with color chips of anything that looks even remotely possible and just leave them on the walls for consideration. The ones we definitely don't like get picked off the wall until we're down to just a few. At that point, it's time to get actual paint, hopefully sample sizes, and try it out. Be sure to paint samples closer and further from the window in case it makes a difference.