Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gw_oakley

What is too much in painted furniture?

Oakley
11 years ago

I have a large LR which has two seating areas, divided by the sofa. Dark hickory floors.

The wood furniture pieces in there is a combo of dark wood (sorry, I'm not good at stain colors), one maple desk, and two old oak pieces with a dark stain. The front door is mahogany which actually matches some of the tables.

The coffee table is a creamy white with a maple top. It's a large piece.

White molding and beadboard in room.

I have two inexpensive tables I bought on a whim just to fill in the spaces, and I've decided to paint them. White is the best color since I'm trying to lighten up the LR.

Oh, creamy white plantation shutters. With all the white in there the room is still a bit dark because of the flooring & tables blending in with the floors.

Since I have a white coffee table, would it be too much to paint the two pieces white? Actually a creamy white.

Neither table will be close to each other. One in back of the room, one in the entryway.

I have no other painted pieces except the coffee table. Would three white's be too much?

Anyone else with more than one piece of painted furniture among dark wood?

Comments (29)

• Olychick
    11 years ago

Hard to say without seeing your rooms, but if you are concerned, is there an accent color in your home you could paint one of them and have a little bright spot where you use it?

• palimpsest
    11 years ago

I don't think there is a "correct" answer to this question, but I take certain things into consideration.

All the furniture in a room can be painted particularly if it is a matched suite of furniture like you would use in a dining room or bedroom.

If a piece was added to this I would not do a different painted piece--I would ad a single stained piece, if anything.