Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
schwibs281

What to do with brick walled family room

schwibs281
9 years ago

My wife and I are in the process of purchasing a home. It was built in 1979 and has a family room with a large brick wall with a fireplace and built in cove for firewood storage. Attached is a picture of the (staged for selling) room and the wall.

We're wondering what we can do to make the room a little less "country home-y" and make it more modern/contemporary. We plan to put a panel TV / Ikea Besta TV stand on the wall opposite the pictured drywalled wall between two windows, but otherwise will likely arrange furniture as pictured.

I'm an engineer and can't tell you what I like - I know it when I see it!

It seems as though the first step is to remove the brass insert and replace it with something more modern. What else do you recommend to make this room inviting and modern? =)

More pictures:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/y1p6oukt3qd03r4/FX8408469_13_0.jpg?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/474jlmz3schtqep/FX8408469_14_0.jpg?dl=0

Comments (28)

• tibbrix
    9 years ago

Yes, take the brass surround out and get a nice, modern FP screen.

Cover the front of the hearth, the sides and above the mantel with a white wood facade (see before and after pics below).

Also, I think the ideal furniture arrangement for that room would be to have two sofas, in an L shape, one in front of the windows and the other facing the FP, with the TV on an articulating arm on the wall where the floor lamp is in your photo, and an easy chair on a diagonal over there, large coffee table and a nice rug.

You can pull the tV out when you want to watch it, and push it against the wall when you have company and don't want it sticking out. Those articulating arm TV mounts are great.

So, before pic:

• Olychick
    9 years ago

Pretty room! I really like what was done with this fireplace wall by whitewashing: