Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
magdalenalee_gw

First year teacher gift?

MagdalenaLee
9 years ago

My son's girlfriend just got her first teaching job. She graduated three years ago, has been working 2-3 jobs at a time - all the while submitting resumes, interviewing and networking as much as possible. She's worked so hard to land this job and we couldn't be prouder.

She's a pretty practical person so I would like to get something along the lines of helping with organization. I really have no idea what teachers need in that regard.

She will be teaching freshman AP world history.

Thanks!

Comments (21)

• Maureen Barstow
    9 years ago

Having been a teacher for over 30 years, the most treasured gift would have been my own copy machine. I was a high school teacher and was forever waiting at the copy machine to run off materials for my students.

• teeda
    9 years ago

As a former teacher, I can say that most people have no idea how much personal money teachers--especially new teachers spend. I remember earning $21K my first year of teaching and spending over $2K on supplies! That was 10% of my income!

I think a generous gift card to Walmart, Staples, Amazon, dollar stores, etc. would be very much appreciated! She probably has no idea what she really needs to buy at this point, so the gift card can be used all year. You are so thoughtful to be supporting her this way!

• joaniepoanie
    9 years ago

A gift card to a teacher store if they have one in your area.

• deeinohio
    9 years ago

Deleted

This post was edited by deeinohio on Fri, Aug 8, 14 at 18:49

• nosoccermom
    9 years ago

Well, it depends on the school. A lot of students' materials and learning activities, especially for AP classes, are now online or in electronic form on their laptops. Papers, including photo copies are pretty much a thing of the past.