Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cookingrvc_gw

Reborn Restoration Hardware Reinvented - What!!??

cookingrvc
13 years ago

I got the Restoration Hardware catalog this week and was so looking forward to curling up with it only to find that they have completely changed their style and selection.

I am not sure what they're doing or whether it will be successful, but it didn't appeal to me at all. Very taste specific and frankly some of the stuff is odd.

There's an introduction in the front of the catalog from their CEO. I just don't get it, but maybe that's just me.

What did you think?

Sue

Here is a link that might be useful: RH

Comments (86)

• runninginplace
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

"I can only speak for myself, but I've been buying new and used unfinished furniture for over 20 years and finishing the pieces myself, either with paint or a waxed finish that needs to be maintained periodically."

But, this isn't unfinished furniture...it's extremely pricey faux-aged furniture that is most definitely not sold as a partially finished piece.

I've bought unfinished stuff too and finished it myself. The new RH line is not that stuff.

Ann

• juddgirl2
    13 years ago

tinam - I've used mineral spirits before to remove Briwax, so that might work.

• bigdoglover
    13 years ago

I really liked most of the furniture, more the lines and scale of it than the colors and finishes. They are going back to very classic elements and I love that. But then I still love Williamsburg chandeliers and sconces and 18th century reproductions and forms, when most of the rest of the country is throwing theirs overboard for a different look, lol!

• ttodd
    13 years ago

Chateau Domingue is one of my favorite places to look for inspiration. I've found that many of my 'tabbed' inspiration pics feature architectural elements or something from them. It's def. a much 'warmer', 'homier', 'cozier' than how RH has the look.