Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mom23es_gw

Chalkboard painted walls - messy?

Mom23Es
11 years ago

I've read lota of posts about this stuff. I've seen so many pictures of kids' bedrooms and playrooms with large areas of wall painted with chalkboard paint. It looks awesome, and my kids would LOVE to color on them. Before having kids I was an elementary school teacher, and my chalkboard was always a mess by the end of the day. Thank goodness the wonderful custodians cleaned our rooms so well each night. I love the look of chalkboard paint walls, but aren't they ridiculously messy? Is there some secret to containing the chalk dust that I don't know about? The rooms I would use it in all have carpeting.

Comments (5)

• sheesh
    11 years ago

My gkids have a playroom wall done in chalk paint. The kids love it, but it is ALWAYS a mess. Their mom buys dustless chalk, but well, it is still plenty dusty. Because it is the bottom half of the wall that gets all the use, it is a struggle to get it clean, and, despite constant vacuuming along the baseboard and carpet edge, that edge has a very definite collection of chalk dust.

Their mom has given up cleaning the wall, so the kids just keep erasing their masterpieces. When it gets bad enough, Mom gives it a good going over, then lets it go again for a while. She is an excellent housekeeper and it took her a some months to stop cleaning the wall after the kids went to bed every night, but she has quit. The chalky smeary wall is part of the decor now, and everybody is happy.

The chalk wall was done just before last christmas, so is about 8 months old. The line on the carpet is permanent, but, oh well.
    When the kids are older, she will replace carpet and repaint the wall. In the meantime, it is fun for the kids, a great room to play in. You have to be able to accept the chalk wall for what it is...a mess, most of the time.