Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sadie709_gw

fighting with the upholsterer

sadie709
13 years ago

I have a 40 year old MCM sofa that was my GM's that has been in my moms basement for 15 years. I want to recover it. I met with an upholsterer. He says that recovered the couch would cost $3500 to replace and the cost to reupholster will be about $1800. We are having creative differences of opinion. He wants microfiber and I'm not sold. He wants a firmer cushion and to add higher legs to add height to the sofa. I want a softer cushion and don't know if raising the sofa will interfere with the proportions or the look of the sofa. It is a long sofa over 72" and the arms and the back are the same height. It is skirted and has a very rectangular look. It sits low to the ground.

Being a professional myself it makes me crazy when clients hire me for my advice and then don't take it and when it is a disaster I have to work twice as hard to clean up the mess. So I have a predisposition to listening to my expert. But..., I think I'm going to be the bad client I hate. I want the couch to be comfortable and be able to sink into it and not be perched on top of it.

Here are my questions.

What do you think of microfiber?

Is the couch worth spending $1800 dollars on? ( if i ask for down cushions I'm sure the price will increase)

Should I loose the skirt and let him raise the legs?

Do I shut up and let him do what he wants?

Comments (27)

• yborgal
    13 years ago

I recovered my mother's sofa. I left the lines as is, even though the sofa is low. I liked the legs and the decorative along the base of the sofa. The sofa would have been more comfy and easier to get up from had I raised the height, but it's in a parlor and gets very little use. I went for appearance rather than comfort. I did substitute firmer cushions for the softer ones and I'm happy I did that.