Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dryersheet

help decorating new/smallish bedroom

dryersheet
11 years ago

I just moved and I'm ready to make my bedroom a place I wanna spend time in but I'm a complete noob when it comes to decorating.

Here are my problems/questions

this is literally the only place I can put the bed, the other wall is a full length closet and any other placements take up too much floor space or block the door.

Should I lower the bed so its not right under the window?

Should I get a headboard? If so, a big one? a small one?

How should I decorate the walls..I cant paint so pretty much just artwork or ledges or stuff like that..

any ideas/tips welcome!! Thanks in advance :D

Comments (10)

• Betsy418
    11 years ago

I don't think you necessarily need to lower the bed. It doesn't appear too high now. I'd probably think about a metal headboard. I always think they look good and do well in smallish rooms since you can see through them. I know you didn't ask about window treatments but what about replacing the blind with a bamboo shade and hanging it very close to the ceiling and then putting stationary panels on either side? This will give the illusion that the whole wall is windows and that takes care of "decorating" one wall.

You've got a good neutral wall color so you're really looking at a blank slate. Good luck. Hope you'll post finished pictures.

• sis2two
    11 years ago

I think an iron bed or headboard would look really nice in your room. They have an open airy feeling and give the illusion of space. A small nightstand would be nice and would give you storage. Because of your neutral wall color which is always a plus, you could use any color bedding that you want. I personally love to use decorative pillows to add warmth to the room. As for artwork, find something that you really love to hang on the wall over your bed or maybe a grouping of things. Mirrors are always good in a small space.