Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kitchennovice44

Chandelier: (pics) too busy? Or could PB Bellora work?

kitchennovice44
12 years ago

I've been debating this for 2 months now...really need objective advice from GWers. Could the Bellora chandelier work in my dining space or will it look too busy?

Links to PB Bellora and my dining room are below, since I don't think I'm allowed to post PB's copyrighted photos:

1. Pottery Barn's Bellora chandelier:

http://www.potterybarn.com/products/bellora-chandelier/popup/more-views.html

2. My dining room pic:

http://photobucket.com/kitchennovicediningroom

My home is small, w/an open DR/LR layout. I've been trying to visually separate dining area by giving it a more formal, romantic, fine-dining feel...warm and inviting. Rest of home is transitional: black leather furnishings, warm reds, burnished orange, creamy beige area rugs and accents.)

I know a simpler, streamlined fixture is probably better, but this gal's heart longs for some SPARKLE! I just love Bellora's modern glass balls that play to glass/lucite table, w/dark base that matches rest of house. Yet I'm worried that all that curved iron is too busy for room.

If you hate the art, rug, table, etc, it's not that I don't appreciate your opinions, but those are staying. :) Would love help re: what chandy you feel could pull it together, before I order something I love online...only to end up hating in my space!:)

Table 42" wide.

Room size: roughly 11 x 8� with 9-ft vaulted ceiling.

Bellora is small: roughly 20" wide, 22" high

Comments (25)

• makeithome
    12 years ago

For others, here's your dining room:

Personally, I think your room could pull it off. However, you might also be able to find some SPARKLE in a fixture that works better with the overall transitional feel of your home.
    Pics of the adjoining rooms may help us get a better feel for what might work best.