Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
txmarti

What do you think of this brick color?

TxMarti
11 years ago

The brick layer finished Friday and I started painting the trim today but it was too hot to finish, so please ignore the odd painting above the brick.

I just want to know what you think of the brick color. Like or dislike? Would you paint the whole house rather than have this on your house?

{{gwi:1757471}}

Close up

{{gwi:1757472}}

Comments (15)

• cyn427 (z. 7, N. VA)
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I like it!

• graywings123
    11 years ago

Me too!

• awm03
    11 years ago

Looks great with the trim -- nice choice!

• User
    11 years ago

I don't like it---but then I do not like my own brick, either, so yours is in excellent company :-)

• dedtired
    11 years ago

It's very nice. I wish a former owner had not painted the brick on the front of my house. Brick never needs to be repainted, but painted brick does.

• TxMarti
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I appreciate all your answers. Now I'm going to give you the full story. Oh and btw, the white paint on the gable is the primer I put on this morning. The yellow is the primer that was on the hardiplank, but it isn't good primer so I'm re-priming it.

The brick in the photos I posted has been stained.

This is our original brick color.
    {{gwi:1757473}}

When we built the garage (you can see a little of the brick on it on the far right of the above photo) and filled in the opening on the house where the garage door was, dh bought the brick. I don't know how many places he went to, but he found the brick he did buy at Acme. It is the right size, and has the same basic colors in it, mostly yellow/tan with some whites, some browns, and some rusty reds. But it is a different type brick. Not only the texture, but it has more whites, the browns are darker, and the reds are more brown than red.
    This is our original brick
    {{gwi:1757474}}

And this is the brick dh bought