Return to the Home Decorating Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Framing a bathroom mirror

Posted by michelle_phxaz (My Page) on
Tue, Jun 17, 08 at 21:12

Our bathroom mirror above our double sink has no frame but a brass strip along the bottom that holds it to the wall and top of the backsplash.

I want to frame the mirror, I hate brass and have changed all the fixtures to brushed nickle. I have seen kits for this, but this size mirror would cost about $300 with the kits I saw. I bought some molding but if I put it over the brass strip there is a large gap and you can still see the brass.

Does anyone have a place to get a kit cheaper?

Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Framing a bathroom mirror

I remember someone here had done one of these and it wasnt so expensive. I know I have seen some kits ar Lowes, and I just did search and this one looks pretty reasonable. I have no knowledge of these, other than being interested in tdoing it one day as well. This one looks like it is under $100.

Here is a link that might be useful: mirr edge

o

You could buy some moulding and paint it, miter cut it and glue it around the perimiter of the mirror. It will look like a framed mirror. Gorilla Glue would work.

Gabi

o

Thanks Sheila, I am looking for a wood one, but that is the kind of kit I need!

Gabi, thanks, but like I said, I already tried molding and it doesn't work. It needs a groove in it to cover the brass strip, and I don't have the tools to cut grooves.

o

How about Mirror Mates? I saw this company used a long time ago on HGTV.

Here is a link that might be useful: Mirror Mate

o

I think I remember someone saying you could replace the brass piece with a flatter one. Hopefully the person that did that will see this post.

Laurie

o
directions

I just found an old post that I saved. Unfortunately, I forgot to make a note of who wrote this.

Okay, here goes.
You will need:
- a mitre saw or a mitre box w/saw
- a small hand saw or coping saw (a hacksaw will also work)