Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sweet_reverie

Help me with these walls! :)

sweet.reverie
9 years ago

Hello!

My husband and I built a house last summer and I spent a lot of my time on the home building forum on garden web so I thought this forum might be helpful for our latest conundrum.

We have two walls behind our couch. We have pretty much all white, grey and wood in the house so we are hoping to pop with color through art or photographs. I am a professional photographer by trade so I have a lot of photos of my girls I could use but I am not sure if art would be better or a mix of both? My husband does not like photography canvases, so those are out. We are going to using a mirror a near by wall so a mirror is out too. What do you all suggest?

Here is a link that might be useful: Home Blog

Comments (22)

• tibbrix
    9 years ago

I'd pull the sofa away from the wall and put an L-shaped shelf up behind it (attach to walls and shelf using corbels on each end and plane brackets in the interior).

I'd put your photos and a couple of lamps on the shelf behind the sofa.

I think a soft, nice burnt orange/pumpkin would be beautiful on those walls. Maybe something like BM Caramel Latte or Bronze Tone. I think the sofa would look beautiful against a color like that, and black framed photos and artwork would look gorgeous on walls that color. The rug would be great against it as well.

This post was edited by Tibbrix on Fri, Jun 6, 14 at 20:08

• sweet.reverie
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Tibbrix: The shelf is an interesting idea. :) My husband and I love grey and white- we want pop with small amount color from art. We like not having colored walls. I will have to think about sizes of prints or art.

• Annie Deighnaugh
    9 years ago

I agree about pulling the sofa away from the walls. Side tables with lamps would be nice too as would a chair by the FP to help inclose the conversational cluster in the room.