Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
garbovt

Living/Dining Room Combo - (pics)

garbovt
15 years ago

Hi - I am very new to this. :) Just joined today. My husband and I bought a remodeled schoolhouse (was built in 1914). This is our first home and we haven't spent any money or time in decorating as of yet. I am in desperate need of some ideas for decorating our main area - living room/dining room combo. The ceilings are 14Â high and the floors are refinished chestnut. Our walls are painted wood planks. We have a black wood stove in the center of the room. We also have ~11' windows on both sides of the house. Any suggestions as to paint colors, furniture type and arrangement would help. My husband likes neutral colors, and I am a big fan of prints. We are very open to any ideas. (Pictures are included) Thanks!!!

Comments (31)

• eandhl
    15 years ago

How exceiting, we are living in an 1870 Schoolhouse. We totally renovated. Ours is a traditional timber frame, long, one rm schoolhouse with the entry extended. We have 3 horizontal board wainscot, the windows , the bent nail doors and wainscot are painted BM Lenox tan. The walls are mottled plaster. Our kit, a new addition, we painted Barn red cabs with soapstone counters/sink. So I guess ours would be your husbands choice of neutral. Our floors are 12-20 inch wide pine planks. Your chessnut floors are to die for. I have been looking for simple line antiques. Old school desks for end tables. Colorful braided area rugs. Oh, I did very simple black lighting. One thing so far I have no room for, a big blackboard. Your home is really nice!!!

• garbovt
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks for your suggestions! We actually have a little school desk that would work well as an end table now that you mention it. Would you recommend putting the wainscot up and leaving the rest of the walls as the plank? Or would you fill in the grooves on the plank?

• california_dreamer
    15 years ago